Homemade Laundry Soap

This is a recipe I have done twice now and I think this is the only way to go! I found the recipe duplicated on several blog sites. Here is the basic recipe that I used.

1. One four pound twelve ounce box of Borax
2. three bars of Fels-Naptha soap
3. one four pound box of arm & hammer baking soda
4. one box of arm & hammer super washing soda

All these items were in the laundry isle at my local Walmart. You can always add four pounds of Oxy Clean and/or you could add scented laundry crystals. The spouse doesn’t care for perfumed clothes so I opt for nothing smelly. When I made this last batch I made a double and put it in a 5 gallon bucket. I had a huge bag of baking soda I had gotten at Sams so I used my kitchen scale to measure that out.

IMG_5495

I started by shredding the Fels-Naptha soap with my cheese grater. My oldest son ended up doing most of it this time. Usually I get a big bowl and just sit in front of the TV and do it. Takes me about 20 minutes to shred all 6 bars.

IMG_5497

At that point I start layering the soaps. I start with 1 box of Borax, 1 box of baking soda, 1 box super soda wash, and 3 bars of the Fels-Naptha soap, then started again with the remaining amounts.

IMG_5496

To mix I took my husbands DeWalt drill and a paint stirrer and mixed it all up. It could get a little messy, especially the 1st time you do it, so you might want to do it in the garage.

IMG_5498

I have a front load washer, so for a regular large load I use 2 tbs of laundry soap and place it in the drum when putting in the clothes. For a smaller load I adjust accordingly. I used to have all sorts of problems with my washer smelling horribly and I don’t have those problems any more. For fabric softner I just use straight vinegar. I just pour it in the same amount that you would for your fabric softner in the same spot. Your clothes won’t smell like vinegar I promise.

One thought on “Homemade Laundry Soap

Leave a Reply

