Crock Pot Cheese Potatoes

Have I mentioned I love Pintrest?

I was looking for a side dish to go with some chicken vegetable soup and came across this recipe. It called for 10-12 hours in the crock pot, which at the time I didn’t have.  I improvised. I lined a oblong baking dish with aluminum foil and started the process. I got my slicer and sliced one medium sized onion, and aprox 5 smaller potatoes ( I happen to have Klondike Rose on hand).

Image

For the first layer I put a little bacon crumbles on the bottom (yes they were the baked bacon pieces from before), lined with thinly sliced onions, and then added a layer of potatoes. ImageOnce I had the potatoes layered, I put a layer of shredded cheddar cheese. I think I put aprox 1 cup. It was what I had leftover in the fridge. Once that layer was complete I started again with the bacon/onions/potatoes, and then I sprinkled a little garlic powder and lemon pepper on that layer of potatoes prior to putting on the cheese. This time I used colby jack shredded cheese. After the second layer my dish was pretty full so I put a few pats of butter on top of the cheese per the instructions in the recipe.

Image

I wrapped up the aluminum foil and placed it in the oven on 400 degrees for aprox 2 hours. It turned out so yummy.

Image

Everyone really liked this one, and it was even good leftover and heated up.

I would say that maybe it could have cooked just a little longer (maybe a 1/2 hour) and I should have put the garlic powder and lemon pepper on the 1st layer of potatoes as well. I will definitely be trying this one in the crock pot once I plan ahead. Maybe I’ll try making it up in the crock pot the night before and see how it does that way.

Leave a Reply

